top of page

Nexen Tyre Mazda Racing Series

Nexen MRS White Background-01.png

The Nexen Tyre Mazda Racing Series, now into its 32nd year, is a motorsport championship featuring MAZDA RX7's and RX8's competing across New Zealand for the North Island Championship, South Island Championship and New Zealand Championship.

Our history includes being the oldest Racing Series to become sanctioned by Motorsport NZ and we have remained one of the most innovative and cost-effective racing categories in NZ motorsport. To provide a drivers championship, we maintain a controlled rulebook that limits modifications to MAZDA RX7 and RX8 production cars that are eligible to compete. Many of NZ’s high profile National drivers have graduated from the Nexen Tyre Mazda Racing Series.

The RX8 class was introduced in the 2014-2015 season and has grown to become the biggest and fastest-growing class in the North and South Island. With plenty of RX8's still on the road this class will continue to grow in future years.

Chairman: Steven Spear

Deputy Chairman & Secretary: Lindsay Dodd

Treasurer: Nigel Edger

Committee: Scott Davies, Russell Burgess, Phil Clemas and Alex Canty.


Nexen Tyre Mazda Racing Series is an accredited MotorSport New Zealand Series

bottom of page